Research Affiliates

The Manta Research Affiliates Program is designed to extend the reach of manta researchers through the efforts of concerned individuals, sport divers, underwater photographers, diving industry and local conservation groups. Research Affiliates, especially those with frequent manta encounters, are providing invaluable support to increase our knowledge about manta populations, habitats, behavior and migration patterns.

The Manta Research Affiliates Program provides an opportunity for concerned individuals, sport divers, photographers and the diving industry to participate in the field research to build a sound knowledge base for the protection and conservation of manta rays. Participating Research Affiliates advance our collective mission to protect and conserve the worldwide populations of Manta birostris and related Mobulas.

We are seeking the support of individuals and groups in many of the locations that we have been collecting sightings data. If you would like to participate in this program please contact Robert Aston, Executive Director.

Australia Zoe Richards Manta Sight. Museum of Tropical Queensland zoe.richards@mtq.qld.gov.au
Australia John Rumney Undersea Explorer info@undersea.com.au
Australia Nathalie Nalo Exmouth Diving Centre nathalie@exmouthdiving.com.au
Australia Kristin Anderson Exmouth Diving Centre kristin@exmouthdiving.com.au
Brazil Otto Bismarck Fazzano Gadig UNESP - Campus de São Vicente gadig@csv.unesp.br
Brazil Otto Bismarck UNESP - Campus de São Vicente gadig@csv.unesp.br
Costa Rica Malin Tjernström Rich Coast Diving malin.tjernstrom@turismakademien.se
Ecuador Michel Guerrero Exploramar diving michel@exploradiving.com
Ecuador Felipe Vallejo EQUILIBRIO AZUL fvallejo@uio.satnet.net
Fiji Bob Forster Dive Kadavu bob@divekadavu.com
French Polynesia Moeava de Rosemont mantapolynesia@mail.pf
FSM John Fillmed Yap Pathways Hotel pathways@mail.fm
Guam Matt Howes orion@iftech.net
Indonesia Ivan Choong ivan_choong@flyingmantaproject.org
Madagascar Rachel Graham rgraham@wcs.org
Maldives Robert Bryning Maldives Scuba Tours rob@scubascuba.com
Maldives Mark Butterfield lika2_a@yahoo.de
Maldives Guy Stevens guypee@hotmail.com
Maldives Anne-Marie Kitchen-Wheeler Maldives Scuba Tours anne-marie@kitchen-wheeler.freeserve.co.uk
Marshall Islands Michael Benham none Michael_R_Benham@raytheon.com
Mexico, Puerto Vallarta Maria Munn Ocean Visions maria@oceanvisions.co.uk
Micronesia Maria McGlynn Discover Yap Eco-Awareness mariamcglynn1@hotmail.com
Mozambique Laura Virgili lauravi@libero.it
Mozambique Steve Gardner Knowledge Films knowledgefilms@hotmail.com
Mozambique Andrea Marshall sharkbait88@yahoo.com
New Zealand Clinton Duffy Department of Conservation clinton.duffy@actrix.co.nz
New Zealand Seth Bean sethbean@slingshot.co.nz
Panama Chris Palle Lost Coast Excursions info@coibadivecenter.com
Philippines Mark E.M. Villanueva Blue Zoo mark_m_villanueva@yahoo.com
Philippines Tito G. Valiente titovaliente@yahoo.com
Philippines Stuart Green none bosicadd@mozcom.com
Philippines Moonyeen Alava World Wide Fund for Nature malava@wwf.org.ph
Solomon Islands Sally Solomon Watersport sally@solomonwatersport.com
South Africa Reon Coetzee none reon@divesouth.co.za
Switzerland Ronald Merzel Antinea Foundation info@antinea-foundation.org
Tanzania Thierry Thevenet Karios Company thierry.thevenet@thekairoscompany.com
Thailand Malte Felix Fraebel Bubblemind Productions turbopropp@gmx.de
Thailand Sven Elfen third_eye_productions@web.de
Tonga Paul Stone info@divevavau.com
United States Capt. Frank Wasson Gulf Diving spree@gulf-diving.com
USA, Hawaii, KOna James Wing Dolphin Dreams manta@dolphindreams.com
USA, Hawaii, Maui Harry Donenfeld harry@thankyou.tv
USA, Hawaii, Molokini Benja Iglesis none info@benjaiglesis.com
World Jendrik Schroede none jendrikschroeder@yahoo.de